IT Governance

Establish IT as a pillar of corporate goals with SRC IT Governance Services

IT Governance

Our experts will help you in all industries in the area of IT governance. Starting by applying different regulations governing the protection of confidential information, financial accountability, data retention, and incident recovery. To ensure your company meets internal and external requirements, our experts help you by implementing a formal IT governance program that provides a framework of best practices and controls.

Everything you need to know about IT Governance

What is IT Governance?

Essentially, IT governance provides a structure for aligning IT strategy with business strategy. By following a formal framework, organizations can produce measurable results towards achieving their strategies and goals. A formal program also takes stakeholders’ interests into account, as well as the needs of staff and the processes they follow.

Viewed holistically, IT governance is an integral part of overall enterprise governance. It can be regarded as an element of corporate governance, aimed at improving the overall management of IT and deriving improved value from investment in information and technology.

IT governance enables an organization to:

  • Demonstrate measurable results against broader business strategies and goals.
  • Meet relevant legal and regulatory obligations, such as those set out in the GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation).
  • Assure stakeholders that they can have confidence in the organization's IT services.
  • Facilitate an increase in the return on IT investment; and
  • Comply with certain corporate governance or public listing rules or requirements.
What are the main focus areas of IT governance?

ISACA through its IT Governance Institute breaks down IT governance as a general approach into the following focus areas (all driven by stakeholder value):

  1. Value delivery: The value contribution of IT to a company's success is to be measured and evaluated.
  2. Strategic alignment: The IT strategy must be aligned with the strategy of the company as a whole.
  3. Performance management: The focus is on tracking project delivery and monitoring IT services.
  4. Resource management: Decisions are to be made about goal-oriented and efficient use of resources
  5. Risk management: Risks are to be identified and managed with the focus on safeguarding IT assets, disaster recovery, and continuity of operations. 
How can IT governance be implemented and what is the COBIT 5 implementation life cycle?

IT Governance implementation initiatives must be properly and adequately managed. Support and direction from key leadership executives can ensure that improvements are adopted and sustained. Requirements based on current challenges should be identified by management as areas that need to be addressed. Successful implementation depends on implementing the appropriate change in the appropriate way.

The implementation life cycle provides a way for enterprises to address the complexity and challenges typically encountered during implementations. The three interrelated components of the life cycle are:

  1. Core continual improvement life cycle—as opposed to a one-off project
  2. Change enablement—addressing the behavioral and cultural aspects
  3. Program management—following generally accepted project management principles

These components form, respectively, the inner ring, middle ring and outer ring of the implementation life cycle from COBIT 5 Implementation. The seven phases of this life cycle are the following:

  • Phase 1: recognition and agreement on the need for an implementation or improvement initiative. In this phase, current pain points are identified facilitating a desire to change at executive management levels.
  • Phase 2: focus on defining the scope of the implementation or improvement initiative, considering how risk scenarios could also highlight key processes on which to focus. An assessment of the current state will need to be performed to identify issues or deficiencies by carrying out a process capability assessment. 
  • Phase 3: improvement target set, including a more detailed analysis to identify gaps and potential solutions.
  • Phase 4: practical solutions with defined projects supported by justifiable business cases and a change plan for implementation is developed.
  • Phase 5: proposed solutions implemented into day-to-day practices, measurements are defined and monitoring established, ensuring that business alignment is measured, achieved, and maintained.
  • Phase 6: sustainable operation of the new or improved IT governance initiatives and the monitoring of the achievement of expected benefits.
  • Phase 7: the overall success of the initiative is reviewed, further requirements for IT Governance are identified, and the need for continual improvement is reinforced.
What are some of the IT governance standards and frameworks that SRC helps you with?

IT governance frameworks primarily help organizations to provide a road map and evaluate the performance and effectiveness of IT governance processes. It provides insight into the performance of the IT department and achieves legal and regulatory compliance with respect to IT. In this regard, an IT governance framework can provide reference models for:

  • IT processes
  • Input and output of processes
  • Key process objectives
  • Performance measurement techniques

SRC consultants are familiar with several IT governance frameworks (cf. below a list of the most common frameworks). Our experts support you on how to utilize your IT infrastructure and processes in a holistic manner facilitating alignment with core enterprise goals and visions.

Governance frameworks are intended to support the implementation of and compliance with various IT governance requirements. Companies and external service providers can have themselves certified accordingly by independent institutions. The most important IT governance frameworks are:

  1. ISO/IEC 38500: It contains guiding principles designed to promote effective, efficient and acceptable use of information technology in organizations. This standard defines IT governance as an essential part of business processes in organizations and places the responsibility for this on corporate management.
  2. COBIT: COBIT is considered one of the most important frameworks for implementing IT governance. It was created by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). COBIT comprises a process model with generally applicable and internationally accepted IT process-related requirements. Recently, COBIT 2019 was introduced as the successor to the COBIT 5 version that had been valid until then. The focus of the further development was particularly on making the COBIT 5 framework easier to adapt, especially for medium-sized companies. In addition, current topics such as DevOps and agility as well as cloud were incorporated into the further development.
  3. ISO/IEC 20000: This standard deals with the implementation of IT service management. The standard serves as a measurable quality criterion for IT service management. ISO/IEC 20000 specifies the necessary minimum requirements for processes that an organization must implement. Only then can the organization provide and manage IT services in a defined quality.
  4. ITIL: ITIL manages IT services across the entire lifecycle. The framework offers a collection of predefined processes, functions, and roles that are found in the IT infrastructure of medium-sized and large companies. A core requirement of the processes is measurability. The assignment of the respective activities is based on roles and functions. ITIL involves proposals for best practices, which are then adapted according to the needs of the respective company.
  5. TOGAF: The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) is primarily concerned with the structure of organizations. It provides a model for the design, planning, implementation and maintenance of enterprise architectures. Companies can use it to plan efficient architectures and/or optimize existing structures.
  6. AS8015-2005: A technical standard developed in Australia and published in 2005, this framework is a 12-page framework that includes six principles for effective IT governance.
  7. COSO: From the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission, this framework focuses on more general and less IT-focused processes, with an emphasis on enterprise risk management and fraud deterrence.
  8. ISO/IEC 27000 series: The ISO/IEC 27000 series refers to several standards that regulate information security in companies. The best known is ISO/IEC 27001, which regulates the provision of requirements for an information security management system (ISMS).
  9. IT Grundschutz: In Germany in particular, there are also the IT-Grundschutz catalogs. These are a collection of documents from the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI). They are intended to help identify and combat security-relevant vulnerabilities in IT environments. For companies and public authorities, the IT-Grundschutz catalogs form the basis for obtaining a corresponding certification. The certification confirms that a company has taken appropriate measures to protect its IT systems against IT security threats.
What is COBIT?

COBIT is the most commonly used framework for achieving compliance. It is the acronym for Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies.

ISACA created the COBIT framework to bridge the crucial gap between technical issues, business risks, and control requirements. It helps businesses wanting to implement, monitor, and improve IT management best practices.

The COBIT framework aims to provide a common language for IT professionals, business executives, and compliance auditors to communicate with each other about IT controls, objectives, and outcomes.

Without a common language, an enterprise under audit runs the risk of educating individual auditors about when, where, how, and why specific IT controls were created.

COBIT 5 is based on five key principles for IT enterprise governance:

  • Principle 1: Meeting Stakeholder Needs
  • Principle 2: Covering the Enterprise End-to-End
  • Principle 3: Applying a Single Integrated Framework
  • Principle 4: Enabling a Holistic Approach
  • Principle 5: Separating Governance from Management

These five principles enable an organization to build a holistic framework for the governance and management of IT that is built on seven so-called "enablers":

  1. People, policies and frameworks
  2. Processes
  3. Organisational structures
  4. Culture, ethics and behavior
  5. Information
  6. Services, infrastructure, and applications
  7. People, skills, and competencies

Recently, COBIT 2019 was introduced as the successor to the COBIT 5 version that had been valid until then. The focus of the further development was particularly on making the COBIT 5 framework easier to adapt, especially for medium-sized companies. In addition, current topics such as DevOps and agility as well as cloud were incorporated into the further development.

Focus areas IT Governance Frameworks

Our knowledge of IT governance and compliance allow us to offer the best application of standards and frameworks to ensure that IT-enabled investmenets support your business / enterprise objectives.

1
ISO/IEC 27000 series
2
COBIT
3
ITIL
4
IT Grundschutz

IT Governance Consulting

Establish with SRC the processes used to monitor and control your key information technology capability decisions to ensure the delivery of value to your key stakeholders by our IT Governance services.
Von Jaber Kakar

Your guide to a holistic approach to safety.

Comprehensive process for achieving information security and regulatory compliance
White Paper Information Security

Information security:
A holistic digital approach

Learn more about how they effectively meet compliance and information security requirements

IT-Governance

    Etablierung der IT als eine Säule der Unternehmensziele mit SRC IT-Governance Services

    IT-Governance

    Unsere Experten helfen Ihnen in allen Branchen im Bereich der IT-Governance. Dies umfasst unter anderem die Anwendung verschiedener Regulatorien, die den Schutz vertraulicher Informationen, die finanzielle Rechenschaftspflicht, die Datenaufbewahrung und die Wiederherstellung bei Zwischenfällen regeln. Um sicherzustellen, dass Ihr Unternehmen die internen und externen Anforderungen erfüllt, helfen unsere Experten Ihnen bei der Implementierung eines formellen IT-Governance-Programms, das einen Rahmen für bewährte Verfahren und Kontrollen bietet.

    Alles, was Sie über IT-Governance wissen müssen

    Was ist IT-Governance?
    Im Wesentlichen bietet IT-Governance Ihnen die Möglichkeit Ihre IT-Strategie mit der Geschäftsstrategie in Einklang zu bringen. Durch die Einhaltung eines formalen Frameworks können Unternehmen messbare Ergebnisse erzielen, um ihre Strategien und Ziele zu erreichen. Ein formelles Programm berücksichtigt auch die Interessen der Stakeholder sowie die Bedürfnisse der Mitarbeiter und die von ihnen befolgten Prozesse.

    Ganzheitlich betrachtet ist die IT-Governance ein integraler Bestandteil der gesamten Unternehmensführung. Sie kann als ein Element der Enterprise Governance betrachtet werden, das darauf abzielt, das IT-Management insgesamt zu verbessern und einen höheren Wert aus den Investitionen in Information und Technologie zu erreichen.

    IT-Governance ermöglicht es einer Organisation:
    • Messbare Ergebnisse im Zusammenhang von umfassenderen Geschäftsstrategien und -zielen zu erreichen.
    • Erfüllung der relevanten rechtlichen und regulatorischen Verpflichtungen, wie z. B. die DSGVO.
    • Stakeholdern zu versichern, dass sie Vertrauen in die IT-Dienste der Organisation haben können.
    • Steigerung der Rendite von IT-Investitionen zu ermöglichen; und
    • Einhaltung bestimmter Anforderungen der Corporate Governance.
    Welches sind die wichtigsten Focus Areas der IT-Governance?
    ISACA gliedert die IT-Governance als allgemeinen Ansatz in die folgenden Schwerpunktbereiche / Focus Areas (die sich alle am Nutzen der Stakeholder orientieren):
    • Wertschaffung (Engl.: Value Delivery): Der Beitrag der IT zum Unternehmenserfolg ist zu messen und zu bewerten.
    • Strategische Ausrichtung (Engl.: Strategic Alignment): Die IT-Strategie muss auf die Strategie des gesamten Unternehmens abgestimmt sein.
    • Leistungsmanagement (Engl.: Performance Management): Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Verfolgung der Projektabwicklung und der Überwachung der IT-Leistungen / IT-Services.
    • Ressourcenmanagement: Es sind Entscheidungen über den zielgerichteten und effizienten Einsatz von Ressourcen zu treffen.
    • Risikomanagement: Risiken sollen identifiziert und gemanagt werden, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der Sicherung von IT-Assets der Wiederherstellung im Notfall / Disaster Recovery und der Kontinuität des Betriebs liegt. 
    Wie kann IT-Governance implementiert werden und wie sieht der COBIT 5-Implementierungs-Lebenszyklus aus?

    Initiativen zur Umsetzung der IT-Governance müssen ordnungsgemäß und angemessen verwaltet werden. Die Unterstützung und Anleitung durch wichtige Führungskräfte kann sicherstellen, dass Verbesserungen angenommen und aufrechterhalten werden. Anforderungen, die auf aktuellen Herausforderungen basieren, sollten vom Management als Bereiche identifiziert werden, die angegangen werden müssen. Eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung hängt davon ab, dass die entsprechenden Veränderungen auf die richtige Art und Weise durchgeführt werden.

    Der Implementierungslebenszyklus bietet Unternehmen eine Möglichkeit, die Komplexität und die Herausforderungen zu bewältigen, die typischerweise bei Implementierungen auftreten. Die drei relevanten Komponenten des Lebenszyklus sind:

    1. Kontinuierlicher Verbesserungs-Lebenszyklus
    2. Change Enablement - Berücksichtigung der verhaltensbezogenen und kulturellen Aspekte
    3. Programmmanagement nach den allgemein anerkannten Grundsätzen des Projektmanagements
    Diese Komponenten bilden den inneren Ring, den mittleren Ring und den äußeren Ring des Implementierungslebenszyklus von COBIT 5 Implementation. Die sieben Phasen dieses Lebenszyklus sind die folgenden:
    • Phase 1: Erkennen und Einigung auf die Notwendigkeit einer Implementierungs- oder Verbesserungsinitiative. In dieser Phase werden die aktuellen Probleme identifiziert, was den Wunsch nach Veränderung auf Führungsebene fördert.
    • Phase 2: Konzentration auf die Festlegung des Umfangs der Umsetzungs- oder Verbesserungsinitiative, wobei zu berücksichtigen ist, wie Risikoszenarien auch Schlüsselprozesse hervorheben könnten, auf die man sich konzentrieren sollte. Eine Bewertung des aktuellen Zustands muss durchgeführt werden, um Probleme oder Mängel durch eine Bewertung der Prozessfähigkeit zu ermitteln. 
    • Phase 3: Festlegung von Verbesserungszielen, einschließlich einer detaillierteren Analyse zur Ermittlung von Gaps und potenziellen Lösungen.
    • Phase 4: Entwicklung praktischer Lösungen mit definierten Projekten, die durch begründete Geschäftsfälle unterstützt werden, und Entwicklung eines Change-Plans für die Umsetzung.
    • Phase 5: Die vorgeschlagenen Lösungen werden in die tägliche Praxis umgesetzt, Messungen werden definiert und die Überwachung / das Monitoring festgelegt, um sicherzustellen, dass die Ausrichtung des Unternehmens gemessen, erreicht und beibehalten wird.
    • Phase 6: Nachhaltiger Betrieb der neuen oder verbesserten IT-Governance-Initiativen und Überwachung der Erreichung der erwarteten Vorteile.
    • Phase 7: Der Gesamterfolg der Initiative wird überprüft, weitere Anforderungen an die IT-Governance werden ermittelt, und die Notwendigkeit einer kontinuierlichen Verbesserung wird bekräftigt.
    Bei welchen IT-Governance-Standards und -Frameworks unterstützt Sie SRC?
    IT-Governance-Frameworks helfen Organisationen in erster Linie dabei, eine Roadmap zu erstellen und die Leistung und Wirksamkeit von IT-Governance-Prozessen zu bewerten. Sie geben Aufschluss über die Leistung der IT-Abteilung und sorgen für die Einhaltung von Gesetzen und Vorschriften in Bezug auf die IT. In dieser Hinsicht kann ein IT-Governance-Framework Referenzmodelle für folgende Bereiche bereitstellen:
    • IT-Prozesse
    • Input und Output von Prozessen
    • Wichtige (Key-)Prozessziele
    • Techniken zur Leistungsmessung
    Die Berater von SRC sind mit verschiedenen IT-Governance-Frameworks vertraut (siehe unten eine Liste der gängigsten Frameworks). Unsere Experten unterstützen Sie dabei, Ihre IT-Infrastruktur und -Prozesse ganzheitlich zu nutzen und an den zentralen Unternehmenszielen und Visionen auszurichten.

    Governance-Frameworks sollen die Umsetzung und Einhaltung der verschiedenen IT-Governance-Anforderungen unterstützen. Unternehmen und externe Dienstleister können sich entsprechend von unabhängigen Institutionen zertifizieren lassen. Die wichtigsten IT-Governance-Frameworks sind:
    1. ISO/IEC 38500: Sie enthält Leitprinzipien, die den effektiven, effizienten und akzeptablen Einsatz von Informationstechnologie in Organisationen fördern sollen. Diese Norm definiert IT-Governance als wesentlichen Teil der Geschäftsprozesse in Organisationen und legt die Verantwortung dafür auf die Unternehmensführung.
    2. COBIT: COBIT gilt als eines der wichtigsten Rahmenwerke für die Umsetzung von IT-Governance. Es wurde von der Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) entwickelt. COBIT umfasst ein Prozessmodell mit allgemein gültigen und international anerkannten Anforderungen an IT-Prozesse. Vor kurzem wurde COBIT 2019 als Nachfolger der bis dahin gültigen Version COBIT 5 eingeführt. Im Fokus der Weiterentwicklung stand insbesondere die leichtere Adaptierbarkeit des COBIT 5-Frameworks, insbesondere für mittelständische Unternehmen. Darüber hinaus wurden aktuelle Themen wie DevOps und Agilität sowie Cloud in die Weiterentwicklung aufgenommen.
    3. ISO/IEC 20000: Dieser Standard befasst sich mit der Umsetzung von IT-Service-Management. Die Norm dient als messbares Qualitätskriterium für IT-Service-Management. ISO/IEC 20000 legt die notwendigen Mindestanforderungen an Prozesse fest, die eine Organisation umsetzen muss. Dieser Standard stellt so sicher, dass die Organisation IT-Services in einer definierten Qualität bereitstellen und managen kann.
    4. ITIL: ITIL steuert IT-Services über den gesamten Lebenszyklus. Das Framework bietet eine Sammlung von vordefinierten Prozessen, Funktionen und Rollen, die in der IT-Infrastruktur von mittleren und großen Unternehmen zu finden sind. Eine zentrale Anforderung an die Prozesse ist die Messbarkeit. Die Zuordnung der jeweiligen Aktivitäten erfolgt anhand von Rollen und Funktionen. ITIL beinhaltet Vorschläge für Best Practices, die dann an die Bedürfnisse des jeweiligen Unternehmens angepasst werden.
    5. TOGAF: The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) befasst sich primär mit der Struktur von Organisationen. Es bietet ein Modell für den Entwurf, die Planung, die Implementierung und der Maintenance von Unternehmensarchitekturen. Unternehmen können es nutzen, um effiziente Architekturen zu planen und/oder bestehende Strukturen zu optimieren.
    6. AS8015-2005: Bei diesem in Australien entwickelten und 2005 veröffentlichten technischen Standard handelt es sich um ein 12-seitiges Rahmenwerk, das sechs Prinzipien für eine effektive IT-Governance enthält.
    7. COSO: Dieses Rahmenwerk des Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission konzentriert sich auf allgemeinere und weniger IT-bezogene Prozesse, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf dem Risikomanagement von Unternehmen und der Betrugs-/Fraudabwehr liegt.
    8. ISO/IEC 27000-Reihe: Die ISO/IEC 27000-Reihe bezieht sich auf mehrere Normen, die die Informationssicherheit in Unternehmen regeln. Am bekanntesten ist die ISO/IEC 27001, die die Anforderungen an ein Informationssicherheitsmanagementsystem (ISMS) regelt.
    9. IT-Grundschutz: Speziell in Deutschland gibt es auch die IT-Grundschutz-Kataloge. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Sammlung von Dokumenten des Bundesamts für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI). Sie sollen helfen, sicherheitsrelevante Schwachstellen in IT-Umgebungen zu erkennen und zu bekämpfen. Für Unternehmen und Behörden bilden die IT-Grundschutz-Kataloge die Grundlage für eine entsprechende Zertifizierung. Die Zertifizierung bestätigt, dass ein Unternehmen geeignete Maßnahmen zum Schutz seiner IT-Systeme vor IT-Sicherheitsbedrohungen getroffen hat.
    Was ist COBIT?
    COBIT ist das am häufigsten verwendete Framework. Ursprünglich stand COBIT für die Abkürzung Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies.

    ISACA hat das COBIT-Framework geschaffen, um die Lücke zwischen technischen Fragen, Geschäftsrisiken und Kontrollanforderungen zu schließen. Es hilft Unternehmen, die Best Practices für das IT-Management implementieren, überwachen und verbessern wollen.

    Das COBIT-Framework zielt darauf ab, eine gemeinsame Sprache für IT-Fachleute, Führungskräfte und Compliance-Auditoren bereitzustellen, um miteinander über IT-Kontrollen, Ziele und Ergebnisse zu kommunizieren.

    COBIT 5 basiert auf fünf Schlüsselprinzipien für die IT Enterprise Governance:
    • Prinzip 1: Erfüllung von Stakeholder Needs
    • Prinzip 2: Unternehmensweite End-to-End Abdeckung / Coverage
    • Prinzip 3: Anwendung eines einzigen integrierten Frameworks
    • Prinzip 4: Ermöglichung eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes
    • Prinzip 5: Trennung von Governance und Management
    Diese fünf Prinzipien ermöglichen es einer Organisation, einen ganzheitlichen Framework für die Steuerung und Verwaltung der IT aufzubauen, der auf sieben so genannten "Enablers" beruht:
    1. Menschen, Richtlinien und Frameworks
    2. Prozesse
    3. Organisatorische Strukturen
    4. Kultur, Ethik und Verhalten
    5. Informationen
    6. Services, Infrastruktur und Anwendungen
    7. Menschen, Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen

    Vor kurzem wurde COBIT 2019 als Nachfolger der bis dahin gültigen Version COBIT 5 eingeführt. Der Fokus der Weiterentwicklung lag insbesondere darauf, das COBIT 5-Framework vor allem für mittelständische Unternehmen leichter adaptierbar zu machen. Darüber hinaus wurden aktuelle Themen wie DevOps und Agilität sowie Cloud in die Weiterentwicklung aufgenommen.

    Schwerpunktbereiche IT-Governance-Frameworks

    Unser Wissen über IT-Governance und Compliance ermöglicht es uns, die beste Anwendung von Standards und Frameworks zu empfehlen, um sicherzustellen, dass IT-gestützte Investitionen Ihre Geschäfts- bzw. Unternehmensziele unterstützen.

    1
    ISO/IEC 27000 Reihe
    2
    COBIT
    3
    ITIL
    4
    IT-Grundschutz

    IT-Governance-Beratung

    Legen Sie gemeinsam mit SRC die Prozesse fest, mit denen Sie Ihre wichtigsten Entscheidungen im Bereich der Informationstechnologie überwachen und steuern, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie mit Hilfe unserer IT-Governance-Services Ihren wichtigsten Stakeholder einen Mehrwert bieten.
    Von Jaber Kakar

    Ihr Leitfaden für einenganzheitlichen Sicherheitsansatz

    Umfassender Prozess zur Erreichung von Informationssicherheit und regulatorischer Compliance
    White Paper Information Security

    Information security:
    A holistic digital approach

    Erfahren Sie mehr darüber wie sie Compliance- und Informationssicherheitsanforderungen effektiv erfüllen